Connect with us

Women’s World Cup 2023: Dates, Draw, Live Streaming & Preview

The Women’s World Cup will break new ground in 2023, with two nations set to host the tournament for the first-ever time.

Australia and New Zealand will stage the event, which is scheduled to take place between July 20 and August 20.

The United States are aiming to become the first team to lift the trophy on three consecutive occasions and will undoubtedly be tough to beat.

However, several other teams will believe they have what it takes to knock the US off their perch.

Read on as we look at the 2023 Women’s World Cup before offering our thoughts on which team will emerge victorious.

Women’s World Cup 2023 Dates

Here are the key dates for the 2023 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand:

  • Group stage: July 20 – August 3.
  • Round of 16: August 5-8.
  • Quarter-finals: August 11-12.
  • Semi-finals: August 15-16.
  • Third-place play-off: August 19.
  • Final: August 20.

Women’s World Cup 2023 Draw

There are 32 teams in eight groups of four in the first stage of the Women’s World Cup. These are as follows:

  • Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland.
  • Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada.
  • Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan.
  • Group D: England, Haiti, Denmark, China.
  • Group E: United States, Vietnam, Netherlands, Portugal.
  • Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Panama.
  • Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina.
  • Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea.

The top two teams in each group qualify for the round of 16. The Women’s World Cup is then played as a straight knockout competition through to the final.

How to Watch the Women’s World Cup 2023

The BBC and ITV will share the broadcasting rights in the United Kingdom for the tournament. Women’s World Cup live streams will also be available via the following outlets:

  • Albania – RTSH
  • Argentina – TyC Sports         
  • Australia – Optus Sport, Seven Network
  • Austria – ORF 
  • Belgium – RTBF, VRT
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina – Arena Sport, BHRT
  • Brazil – Globo, Casimiro, LiveMode
  • Bulgaria – BNT 
  • Canada Bell Media          
  • China – Shinai Sports     
  • Croatia – Arena Sport, HRT
  • Cyprus – CyBC 
  • Czech Republic – CT, TV Nova
  • Denmark – Viaplay Group
  • Estonia – ERR
  • Europe – EBU
  • Finland – Yle
  • Georgia – GPB
  • Greece – ANT1
  • Hungary – MTVA
  • Iceland – RUV
  • Ireland – RTE
  • Israel – Sports Channel
  • Kosovo – Arena Sport, RTK
  • Latvia – LTV
  • Lithuania – LRT
  • Malta – PBS  
  • Moldova – TRM
  • Montenegro – Arena Sport, RTCG
  • Netherlands – NOS
  • New Zealand – Sky Sport
  • North Korea – KBS
  • North Macedonia – Arena Sport, MRT
  • Norway – Viaplay Group, NRK
  • Pacific Islands – Digicel 
  • Poland – Viaplay Group
  • Paraguay – Tyc Sports         
  • Puerto Rico – Fox, Telemundo
  • Romania – TVR
  • Serbia – Arena Sport RTS
  • Singapore – Mediacorp, Singtel, StarHub
  • Slovakia – RTVS, TV Nova
  • Slovenia – Arena Sport, RTVSLO
  • South Africa – SABC
  • South Korea – KBS
  • Sub-Saharan Africa – New World TV, SuperSport
  • Sweden – Viaplay Group
  • Switzerland – SRG SSR            
  • Turkey – TRT   
  • United States – Fox, Telemundo
  • Uruguay – TyC Sports  

Women’s World Cup 2023 Preview

The United States are the favourites to win the 2023 Women’s World Cup, and it would be a brave move to back against them achieving the feat.

However, they will need to be on their guard in the group stage, with the Netherlands capable of beating them if they produce their best form.

Whichever team tops the group would have an easier path to the final, with the runners-up likely to face Sweden in the last-16.

It is worth noting that the US have not quite been at their best in recent times, but they are guaranteed to improve when the tournament starts.

England will fancy their chances of winning the World Cup after finally getting their hands on major silverware last summer.

The Lionesses used home advantage to great effect to clinch the 2022 European Championship title and have been tipped to follow up this summer.

However, a recent 2-0 home defeat against Australia highlighted several deficiencies in a squad that has shown signs of starting to believe its own publicity.

Germany, Spain and France are all possible winners of the Women’s World Cup, and each of them are a good bet to top their respective groups.

Spain and France have been beset by off-field dramas, but both have the potential to progress a long way if they get their act together.

However, the team to beat may well be Germany, who can count themselves unfortunate not to be heading into the tournament as European champions.

Germany were rocked when top scorer Alexandra Popp suffered an injury in the warm-up, which gave England an unexpected boost.

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg’s side will be gunning for revenge at the World Cup, and they could go one better this time around.