Connect with us

UEFA Super Cup Winners List

The UEFA Super Cup winners list reads like a who’s who of some of the finest teams to ever grace European football. Manchester City are the current UEFA Super Cup champions, having beaten Sevilla on penalties after the game ended 1-1 in regular time.

The Super Cup is an annual football match contested by the winners of UEFA’s two main European club competitions – the Champions League and Europa League.

While it is not recognised as one of UEFA’s major competitions, it has become increasingly prestigious in recent seasons.

First staged officially in 1973, the inaugural edition of the Super Cup was won by Ajax, who defeated AC Milan 6-1 on aggregate.

The two-legged format was kept until 1997, with UEFA deciding to stage the Super Cup as a one-off match in Monaco for the next 15 years.

The Super Cup has been hosted around Europe since then, with the Olympic Stadium in Helsinki the venue for the 2022 edition.

Real Madrid won on that occasion, defeating Eintracht Frankfurt 2-0 courtesy of goals by David Alaba and Karim Benzema.

The UEFA Super Cup roll of honour sees Madrid locked together with Barcelona and Milan on five wins apiece since the competition was launched.

Spanish clubs have dominated the Super Cup, lifting the trophy on 16 occasions and finishing runners-up 14 times. Carlo Ancelotti is the most successful Super Cup manager, winning four titles.

Here is the full list of UEFA Super Cup winners.

Super Cup Winners

Season Winners
2023/24 Manchester City
2022/23 Real Madrid
2021/22 Chelsea FC
2020/21 Bayern Munich
2019/20 Liverpool FC
2018/19 Atlético de Madrid
2017/18 Real Madrid
2016/17 Real Madrid
2015/16 FC Barcelona
2014/15 Real Madrid
2013/14 Bayern Munich
2012/13 Atlético de Madrid
2011/12 FC Barcelona
2010/11 Atlético de Madrid
2009/10 FC Barcelona
2008/09 Zenit St. Petersburg
2007/08 AC Milan
2006/07 Sevilla FC
2005/06 Liverpool FC
2004/05 Valencia CF
2003/04 AC Milan
2002/03 Real Madrid
2001/02 Liverpool FC
2000/01 Galatasaray
1999/00 SS Lazio
1998/99 Chelsea FC
1997/98 FC Barcelona
1996/97 Juventus FC
1995/96 Ajax Amsterdam
1994/95 Milan AC
1993/94 AC Parma
1992/93 FC Barcelona
1991/92 Manchester United
1990/91 Milan AC
1989/90 Milan AC
1988/89 KV Mechelen
1987/88 FC Porto
1985/86 Steaua Bucharest
1984/85 Juventus FC
1983/84 Aberdeen FC
1982/83 Aston Villa
1980/81 Valencia CF
1979/80 Nottingham Forest
1978/79 RSC Anderlecht
1977/78 Liverpool FC
1976/77 RSC Anderlecht
1975/76 Dynamo Kyiv
1973/74 Ajax Amsterdam
1972/73 Ajax Amsterdam

More UEFA Resources

Champions League News
Europa League News
Europa Conference League News