Connect with us

Ballon D’Or Winners List

The Ballon d’Or is a prestigious football award given to the best footballer each year since 1956. The current Ballon d’Or holder is Lionel Messi (2023), an eight-time winner.

Aside from a six-year merger with FIFA between 2009 and 2015, the Ballon d’Or has been a separate award given out by France Football. The Ballon d’Or winners list features the best footballers of every generation since it’s inception.

Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or award eight times while Cristiano Ronaldo has won the award five times, with the duo sharing all 10 awards between 2008 and 2017.

Messi is the only player to win the award four consecutive seasons, ahead of Michel Platini’s hat-trick of awards in 1983-85. He has also continued to win the award late into his thirties, winning it three times in the last five seasons.

In 2020, the Ballon d’Or was not awarded to anyone, and in 2022, it was the first time since 2007 that neither Lionel Messi nor Cristiano Ronaldo made it to the top three list for the award.

Men’s Ballon d’Or Winners List

year player Nationality club
2023 Lionel Messi Argentina Paris Saint-Germain/Inter Miami
2022 Karim Benzema France Real Madrid
2021 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain
2020 not awarded
2019 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2018 Luka Modric Croatia Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2015 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid
2012 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2011 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2010 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2009 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Manchester United
2007 Kaká Brazil AC Milan
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Italy Real Madrid
2005 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona
2004 Andriy Shevchenko Ukraine AC Milan
2003 Pavel Nedvěd Czech Republic Juventus
2002 Ronaldo Brazil Real Madrid
2001 Michael Owen England Liverpool
2000 Luís Figo Portugal Real Madrid
1999 Rivaldo Brazil Barcelona
1998 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus
1997 Ronaldo Brazil Inter Milan
1996 Matthias Sammer Germany Borussia Dortmund
1995 George Weah Liberia AC Milan
1994 Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria Barcelona
1993 Roberto Baggio Italy Juventus
1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands AC Milan
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin France Marseille
1990 Lothar Matthäus Germany Inter Milan
1989 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1988 Marco van Basten Netherlands Milan
1987 Ruud Gullit Netherlands Milan
1986 Igor Belanov Soviet Union Dynamo Kiev
1985 Michel Platini France Juventus
1984 Michel Platini France Juventus
1983 Michel Platini France Juventus
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy Juventus
1981 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge West Germany Bayern Munich
1979 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1978 Kevin Keegan England Hamburg
1977 Allan Simonsen Denmark Borussia Monchengladbach
1976 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1975 Oleg Blokhin Soviet Union Dynamo Kiev
1974 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1973 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Barcelona
1972 Franz Beckenbauer West Germany Bayern Munich
1971 Johan Cruyff Netherlands Ajax
1970 Gerd Müller West Germany Bayern Munich
1969 Gianni Rivera Italy AC Milan
1968 George Best Northern Ireland Manchester United
1967 Flórián Albert Hungary Ferencvaros
1966 Bobby Charlton England Manchester United
1965 Eusébio Portugal Benfica
1964 Denis Law Scotland Manchester United
1963 Lev Yashin Soviet Union Dynamo Moscow
1962 Josef Masopust Czechoslovakia Dukla Prague
1961 Omar Sívori Italy Juventus
1960 Luis Suárez Spain Barcelona
1959 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa France Real Madrid
1957 Alfredo Di Stéfano Spain Real Madrid
1956 Stanley Matthews England Blackpool

Women’s Ballon d’Or (Ballon d’Or Féminin) Winners List

year player Nationality club
2021 Alexia Putellas Spain Barcelona
2020 not awarded
2019 Megan Rapinoe USA Reign FC
2018 Ada Hegerberg Norway Olympique Lyonnais