Connect with us


Nations League draw: England, Scotland and Wales discover opponents

The 2024/25 Nations League draw has been completed and has produced some intriguing match-ups.

England will take on the Republic of Ireland for the first time in a competitive match since 1991.

The y were drawn together in Group B2, which also includes Finland and Greece.  

The Three Lions were in League A last time but were relegated after finishing at the bottom of their group. 

Scotland have been drawn alongside Croatia, Poland and Portugal in Group A1. 

The Tartan Army won their group ahead of Ukraine, Ireland and Armenia to earn promotion in 2022, but they now face some tough opponents. 

Wales will square off with Iceland, Montenegro and Turkey in Group B4. 

The Dragons haven’t faced Iceland in a decade and it is almost 13 years since they came up against Montenegro, but they played out a 1-1 with Turkey in November last year.  

Northern Ireland have landed in Group C3, where they will take on Luxembourg, Bulgaria and Belarus. 

Spain have been paired with Denmark, Switzerland and Serbia in Group A4. 

They won the previous edition of the Nations League after beating Croatia 5-4 on penalties in the final last year. 

The 2021 winners France have been drawn together with Belgium, Italy and Israel in Group A2. 

The fourth edition of the Nations League will start in September 2024 following the European Championship in Germany. 

Nations League 2024/25 draw

League A 

  • Group A1: Croatia, Portugal, Poland, Scotland
  • Group A2: Italy, Belgium, France, Israel
  • Group A3: Netherlands, Hungary, Germany, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Group A4: Spain, Denmark, Switzerland, Serbia

League B 

  • Group B1: Czechia, Ukraine, Albania, Georgia
  • Group B2: England, Finland, Republic of Ireland, Greece
  • Group B3: Austria, Norway, Slovenia, Kazakhstan
  • Group B4: Wales, Iceland, Montenegro, Turkey

League C

  • Group C1: Sweden, Azerbaijan, Slovakia, Estonia
  • Group C2: Romania, Kosovo, Cyprus, Lithuania/Gibraltar*
  • Group C3: Luxembourg, Bulgaria, Northern Ireland, Belarus
  • Group C4: Armenia, Faroe Islands, North Macedonia, Latvia

League D

  • Group D1: Lithuania/Gibraltar*, San Marino, Liechtenstein
  • Group D2: Moldova, Malta, Andorra

More in England