Connect with us


Ten Hag, Howe, Iraola, Edwards up for Premier League MOTM award

The nominees for November 2023’s Barclays Manager of the Month award have been revealed.

Erik ten Hag (Manchester United), Rob Edwards (Luton Town), Eddie Howe (Newcastle United) and Andoni Iraola (AFC Bournemouth) are up for the award.

Luton, led by Edwards, displayed resilience and determination to storm out of the relegation zone in November. They did get a helping hand from Everton’s 10-point deduction.

They secured their first victory at home with a win over Crystal Palace. Even more impressive was their 1-1 draw with heavyweights Liverpool earlier in the month, in which the Reds had to battle back to take a point in the final minutes. 

Despite a mounting injury list, Howe’s Newcastle have been spectacular in November. They took on London giants Arsenal and Chelsea and slayed both. 

Anthony Gordon scored the only goal as they claimed a controversial 1-0 win over the Gunners, who top the Premier League, and ended their unbeaten start to the campaign.

Gordon contributed a goal and assist in a dominant 4-1 win over Chelsea. Howe’s side outran and outworked the Blues to send them crashing back down to earth after two impressive results. 

Newcastle had players limping and still wanted it more than Chelsea, and the credit can only go to their inspiring manager.

The Magpies did lose 2-0 to Iraola’s Bournemouth. The Cherries also beat Sheffield United as they clinched two wins out of three matches. 

Iraola’s influence has been pivotal in turning the tide for the Cherries after a shaky start to the season.

Man United manager Ten Hag is a strong contender for the award after overcoming significant injury setbacks to guide his team to a flawless November. 

The Red Devils secured three wins in as many games and an impressive goal difference of +5, propelling them to sixth in the table, just six points behind the league leaders.

November 2023 Premier League Manager of the Month nominees

  • Erik ten Hag (Manchester United)
  • Rob Edwards (Luton Town)
  • Eddie Howe (Newcastle United)
  • Andoni Iraola (AFC Bournemouth)

More in Bournemouth