Connect with us

La Liga

Javier Tebas resigns ahead of La Liga presidential elections, seeks fourth term

Javier Tebas resigns ahead of La Liga presidential elections, seeks fourth term

La Liga President Javier Tebas has announced his resignation, paving the way for new elections as he seeks to secure a fourth consecutive term in office.

Tebas has been in charge since 2013, and his four-year term was scheduled to expire on December 23.

Despite the formal resignation, the 61-year-old is widely expected to return to power during the upcoming elections later this year. 

Tebas formally tendered his resignation to vice-presidents Quico Catalan and Miguel Angel Gil Marin, who have been assigned the responsibility of initiating new elections and forming a fresh electoral commission. 

This commission will consist of representatives from three La Liga clubs and two Segunda clubs.

Tebas’ resignation is regarded as a routine procedure ahead of the elections, ensuring a smooth transition as his current term approaches its expiration in a month. 

The election process which is expected to last a month was accelerated to avoid an overlap with the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) elections scheduled for early 2024.

Tebas is unlikely to face any concrete competition for the role as he enjoys widespread support among club presidents in both La Liga and the Segunda Division. 

Having been elected unopposed in 2013 and 2019, Tebas is poised to return for his fourth consecutive term, despite a longstanding feud with Barcelona and club president Joan Laporta.

Tebas wrote on social media platform X: “A few minutes ago, I presented my resignation as president of La Liga prior to the end of my term, which will end on December 23. 

“A new electoral process will open in which I will present myself, so I will request the endorsement and trust of the clubs to take on the challenges at hand.”

The new electoral commission is expected to expedite fresh elections, ensuring the entire process concludes before next year. 

Tebas remains the frontrunner for victory in the upcoming election, positioning him to lead La Liga for another four years.

More in La Liga