Connect with us

Athletic Bilbao

Spain announce squad for October international break, Oihan Sancet earns maiden call-up

Spain manager Luis de la Fuente has announced the 25-member squad for the upcoming European Championship qualifying games against Scotland and Norway.

La Roja are currently second in Group A with nine points, trailing leaders Scotland by six points.

De La Fuente’s side enjoyed an emphatic international break last month, defeating Cyprus and Georgia by a landslide.

Athletic Bilbao midfielder Oihan Sancet has been summoned to the Spanish senior team for the first time.

The prodigious Basque midfielder has been knocking on the door in recent years with his impressive performances for the Lions.

The 23-year-old bagged 10 goals and two assists in the 2022/23 campaign for Ernesto Valverde’s side and has netted once in La Liga this term.

He was also part of the Spanish side that finished runners-up in the European Under-21 Championship this year.

Barcelona quartet Lamine Yamal, Gavi, Alejandro Balde and Ferran Torres have also been included in the squad.

Yamal, who made history by becoming the youngest-ever scorer of Spain in a Euro qualifier last month, will be looking to make a significant impact again in national colours.

The 16-year-old is proving to be one of the revelations in La Liga, nailing down a prominent role in Barca’s first-team.

Paris Saint-Germain forward Marco Asensio misses out as he continues his recovery after picking up an injury during the previous international break.

Real Sociedad forward Mikel Oyarzabal has returned to the fold following his impressive form at the club level.

Oyarzbal has netted four goals across all competitions this season, including the strike against RB Salzburg in the Champions League earlier this week.

The 26-year-old is also joined by his La Real team-mates Robin Le Normand, Martin Zubimendi and Mikel Merino in Spain’s latest squad.

Spain Squad

Goalkeepers: Unai Simon, Kepa Arrizabalaga, David Raya.

Defenders: Dani Carvajal, Jesus Navas, Aymeric Laporte, Robin Le Normand, Pau Torres, David Garcia, Alejandro Balde, Fran Garcia.

Midfielders: Rodri, Martin Zubimendi, Mikel Merino, Fabian Ruiz, Gavi, Oihan Sancet.

Forwards: Alvaro Morata, Joselu, Lamine Yamal, Nico Williams, Ferran Torres, Yeremy Pino, Mikel Oyarzabal.

More in Athletic Bilbao