Connect with us


Erling Braut Haaland, Bukayo Saka and Marcus Rashford scoop PFA Awards

Erling Haaland, Bukayo Saka and Marcus Rashford were among the players honoured at tonight’s PFA Awards.

The PFA Awards are a series of prizes recognising the best players from the previous season. The gongs are voted for by players and fans. The awards celebrated their 50th anniversary today.

Haaland was the recipient of the biggest trophy of the night, being named PFA Premier League Players’ Player of the Year.

This came as little surprise, having smashed the single-season goal record with a phenomenal 36 goals in 35 appearances.

The forward becomes only the second Manchester City player to win the award, after teammate Kevin De Bruyne. He is also the first to win it in his debut season for over 20 years since Ruud van Nistelrooy in 2001/02.

Having also qualified for the Young Player of the Year award, it came as some surprise that Haaland didn’t also receive that prize. That honour went to Arsenal winger Bukayo Saka.

The Englishman reached a new level last season, spearheading the Gunners’ title challenge. He hit a career-best 14 league goals, while also racking up 11 assists – a figure beaten only by De Bruyne and Mohamed Salah.

Marcus Rashford was voted as PFA Fans’ Player of the Year. The 25-year-old was in inspired form last term, bagging 17 goals and five assists.

Full PFA Awards 2022/23

Premier League Players’ Player of the Year: Erling Braut Haaland.
Premier League Young Player of the Year: Bukayo Saka.
Premier League Team of the Year: Aaron Ramsdale; Kieran Trippier, Ruben Dias, John Stones, William Saliba; Rodri, Kevin De Bruyne, Martin Odegaard; Bukayo Saka, Erling Braut Haaland, Harry Kane.
WSL Players’ Player of the Year: Rachel Daly.
WSL Young Player of the Year: Lauren James.
WSL Team of the Year: Mary Earps; Ona Batlle, Maya Le Tissier, Alex Greenwood, Rafaelle Souza; Guro Reiten, Frida Maanum, Yui Hasegawa; Rachel Daly, Bunny Shaw, Sam Kerr.
Championship Players’ Player of the Year: Chuba Akpom.
Championship Team of the Year: Arijanet Muric; Connor Roberts, Anel Ahmedhozic, Tom Lockyer, Ian Maatsen; Josh Brownhill, Iliman Ndiaye, Nathan Tella; Chuba Akpom, Viktor Gyokeres, Carlton Morris.
League One Players’ Player of the Year: Conor Chaplin.
League One Team of the Year: James Trafford; Leif Davis, Bali Mumba, Ricardo Santos, Mads Juel Andersen; Barry Bannan, Sam Morsy, Luca Connell; Conor Chaplin, David McGoldrick, Jonson Clarke-Harris.
League Two Players’ Player of the Year: Andy Cook.
League Two Team of the Year: Lawrence Vigouroux; Carl Piergianni, Omar Beckles, Junior Tchamadeu, Ibou Touray; Owen Moxon, Elliot Watt, Idris El Mizouni; Andy Cook, Sam Hoskins, Paul Smyth.
Premier League Fans’ Player of the Year: Marcus Rashford.
WSL Fans’ Player of the Year: Ona Batlle.
Championship Fans’ Player of the Year: Amad Diallo.
League One Fans’ Player of the Year: David McGoldrick.
League Two Fans’ Player of the Year: Elliot Watt.
Fans’ Goal of the Season: Brad Potts.
Fans’ Save of the Season: Neil Etheridge.
PFA Merit Award: Ian Wright.

More in Arsenal