Connect with us


PFA Players’ Player of the Year award nominees revealed

The Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) has announced the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award nominees as they pay homage to the sport’s brightest stars.

All eyes are on Manchester City, with the club providing half of the players featured on the list.

Spearheading them is striker Erling Braut Haaland. The Norwegian prodigy arrived on English soil last summer and unleashed a storm that saw him shatter several records. 

His 36-goal haul in 35 Premier League games was only a portion of his 52 in all competitions.

Haaland’s brilliance was powered by teammate and playmaker Kevin De Bruyne. 

The midfield maestro has already won the award twice and could clinch an unprecedented third title after bagging 18 assists and seven goals on the way to City’s glory. 

The duo’s symbiotic brilliance was augmented by John Stones, who took up a new role between the defence and midfield. He is also up for the award.

However, the spotlight is not exclusive to the Etihad Stadium. Arsenal stars Martin Odegaard and Bukayo Saka are also in contention.

Odegaard took over as Arsenal captain and led them with 15 goals as they challenged City for the title. 

Saka amassed 14 goals and 11 assists, but it was not enough for them to grab their first title since 2004.

Harry Kane is also on the list after crossing the 30-goal threshold for the second time in his career despite Tottenham Hotspur’s disappointing campaign.

Mohamed Salah won the award last year but has not made the shortlist despite bagging 19 goals and 12 assists in 38 appearances.

Haaland and Saka are also up for the Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year award.

One of them could become the first player to win the two awards simultaneously since Gareth Bale after his stunning 2012/13 campaign for Spurs.

The nominees for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award 

  • Erling Braut Haaland – Manchester City
  • Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City
  • John Stones – Manchester City
  • Martin Odegaard – Arsenal
  • Bukayo Saka – Arsenal
  • Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur (now Bayern Munich)

More in Arsenal