Connect with us


Indispensables – Players Who Won The Premier League, 2011-2020

This final part of our four-part series looks at which players were most responsible for each title win during the Premier League era from 2010/11 to 2019/20.

The landscape in the English top flight changed dramatically during the decade, with Manchester City’s new-found wealth upsetting the established order.

Read on as we look at who made the biggest contributions to the title successes during this period.

Dimitar Berbatov – Manchester United – 2010/11

Dimitar Berbatov will undoubtedly look back on the 2010/11 season with mixed emotions despite helping Man United win their 19th top-flight title.

The Bulgarian striker won the Golden Boot after netting 20 goals for the Red Devils – a tally that included a memorable hat-trick against Liverpool.

However, he was left out of the Champions League final against Barcelona, and Berbatov could only watch from the sidelines as United were beaten 3-1 at Wembley Stadium.

Sergio Aguero – Manchester City – 2011/12

Sergio Aguero’s title-winning goal for Manchester City against Queens Park Rangers in 2012 is one of the most iconic moments in Premier League history.

His effort helped City end a 44-year wait to be crowned English champions and laid the foundations for them to knock Man United off their perch.

Aguero ended the season with 23 goals – seven behind Arsenal’s Robin van Persie but crucially with a title success on his CV.

Robin van Persie – Manchester United – 2012/13

Having been narrowly pipped by City on the final day of the previous season, United pushed the boat out to sign Van Persie for £24 million during the summer.

Their decision was vindicated as the Dutchman rattled home 26 goals to fire United to an 11-point winning margin over their local rivals.

His efforts helped Sir Alex Ferguson end his glittering managerial career in a fitting manner, marking the end of a truly golden era in English football.

Yaya Toure – Manchester City – 2013/14

Man City were desperate to regain their title heading into the 2013/14 season and made several big-money additions to the squad during the summer.

However, a player already on their books – Yaya Toure – proved to be the difference maker as City edged home two points ahead of Liverpool.

Toure bagged 20 goals and 13 assists in 35 appearances to help Manuel Pellegrini’s side secure a well-deserved title success.

Eden Hazard – Chelsea – 2014/15

Given how far he has fallen in recent years, it is easy to forget that former Chelsea playmaker Eden Hazard was once one of the best players in the world.

The Belgian was superb for the Blues during the 2014/15 season, carrying most of Chelsea’s attacking threat on his back.

Hazard was kicked from pillar to post by opponents throughout the campaign but defied the rough stuff to lead Chelsea to their first title win since 2010.

N’Golo Kante – Leicester City – 2015/16

N’Golo Kante was Leicester City’s most influential player in 2015/16, with the midfielder’s indefatigable style of play providing the platform for an unlikely title success.

He was a dynamo in front of Leicester’s defence, breaking up play and setting up endless waves of attacks for the team’s talented attackers.

Given his impact on the Foxes’ fortunes, it is tough to think of any other player who enjoyed a more successful debut season in the Premier League.

N’Golo Kante – Chelsea – 2016/17

Anyone who thought Kante was nothing more than a one-season wonder were left with egg on their face as he played a key role in Chelsea’s 2016/17 title success.

A £32 million fee ultimately proved to be one of the bargains of all time as Kante showcased his all-action style for the Blues throughout the campaign.

While Kante barely troubled the goals and assists charts, his extraordinary work ethic was the crucial component in Chelsea winning the league.

Ederson – Manchester City – 2017/18

After seeing his side concede 39 goals during the previous league campaign, manager Pep Guardiola made signing a top-class goalkeeper his primary transfer objective.

The £35m outlay on Benfica goalie Ederson was money well spent, with the Brazilian keeping 17 clean sheets as Man City swept to a comfortable title success.

His arrival at the Etihad Stadium changed the dynamic of Guardiola’s side, giving them the platform they needed to build up play from the back.

Bernardo Silva – Manchester City – 2018/19

Silva was also excellent during the 2017/18 campaign but took things to another level as City were pushed all the way by Liverpool the following season.

His ability to keep possession, create opportunities and score goals made him a favourite with City fans, with many people likening him to club legend David Silva.

The Portuguese playmaker was rightly chosen as the club’s Player of the Season, although he was pipped to the Premier League’s prize by Virgil van Dijk.

Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool – 2019/20

Van Dijk played well as Liverpool were pipped to the 2018/19 title, but he moved things up a notch as the Reds finally got their hands on the trophy next time around.

The Dutchman was imperious throughout the campaign, helping Liverpool clinch the title by an 18-point margin ahead of Man City.

Van Dijk was an ever-present as Liverpool conceded just 33 goals on their way to winning the Premier League for the first time in their history.

Read More

Indispensables – Players Who Won The Premier League, 1992-2000
Indispensables – Players Who Won The Premier League, 2001-2010
Indispensables – Players Who Won The Premier League, 2021-2023

More in Chelsea