Connect with us


10 Manchester City players gunning for fifth Premier League title

Manchester City are on the brink of making history, with Manchester United’s unprecedented ‘Treble’ from 1999 within Pep Guardiola’s reach.

In addition to setting up an all-Manchester FA Cup final against United and a repeat of last season’s Champions League semi-final tie against Real Madrid, the Cityzens are back in the Premier League title race.

Following an overwhelming 4-1 triumph over leaders Arsenal on Wednesday, they have wrestled back control of the league and are now leading candidates to land a third straight league title.

Not only would it be an unprecedented feat in the club’s history, but it would set numerous Man City stars apart from their peers, allowing them to join a select club of players to have won the Premier League at least five times.

Guardiola’s trophy-laden reign at the Etihad Stadium has seen the Cityzens win four titles in five years, with as many as 14 players helping the Spaniard establish an unparalleled dominance of English football.

Vincent Kompany, David Silva, Oleksandr Zinchenko, Gabriel Jesus and Raheem Sterling are now part of the club’s history, with the latter three still competing in the Premier League with Arsenal and Chelsea, respectively.

Not long ago, the Gunners duo seemed on the verge of dethroning Man City following the Londoners’ outrageous form in the first 25 rounds, yet the wheels have fallen off going into the season finale.

While there’s still time for Mikel Arteta’s team to get their faltering title bid back on track, they now depend on City dropping points, which doesn’t look probable given the champions’ devastating form.

As things stand, Jesus and Zinchenko may have to wait for another opportunity to upset their former club.

Kevin De Bruyne, who made the difference in the midweek’s top-table six-pointer, is one of nine active Man City players gunning for a fifth Premier League title this season.

Ederson, Ilkay Gundogan, John Stones, Phil Foden, Aymeric Laporte, Bernardo Silva, Kyle Walker and Riyad Mahrez are the remaining contenders.

Mahrez is the only Man City player to have conquered the Premier League outside the Etihad, doing so in Leicester City’s iconic 2015/16 campaign before switching to Manchester.

More in Arsenal