Connect with us


Gareth Southgate announces England squad for Euro 2024 qualifiers against Italy and Ukraine

Gareth Southgate has selected his 25-man England squad for their upcoming 2024 European Championship qualifiers.

The 52-year-old is looking to take the Three Lions to glory next year, having come close in the past.

In his previous three tournaments, he has led his side to one final, one semi-final and one quarter-final.

Their qualifying campaign for Euro 2024 begins later this month with a couple of relatively tough fixtures.

They travel to the Stadio Diego Armando Maradona to face Italy – the Azzurri defeated England in the Euro 2020 final, and took four points from a possible six when they clashed in the Nations League last year.

This is followed by a home game against Ukraine. The Blue and Yellow narrowly missed out on a place at the World Cup in Qatar, losing their play-off final to Wales.

The most notable inclusion in Southgate’s squad is Brentford forward Ivan Toney. The striker is currently the third-top scorer in the Premier League, behind only Erling Braut Haaland and Harry Kane.

However, his place has been under threat, due to an investigation over alleged breaches of the FA’s betting rules. He has continued to play at club level, but faces a lengthy ban if found guilty.

Liverpool full-back Trent Alexander-Arnold has been omitted from the squad, following a disappointing season. Reece James, Kieran Trippier and Kyle Walker have been selected ahead of him.

Arsenal’s Ben White has also not been selected. The defender was included in Southgate’s World Cup squad but went home early due to personal reasons.

Raheem Sterling, who has been a regular under Southgate, has been left out following recent injury worries. The manager revealed that he would have been chosen if fully fit.

Despite losing his place in the Manchester United starting XI, Harry Maguire remains in the England squad. The 30-year-old has come under criticism for his displays at club level, but has often performed well on the international stage.

Full England squad

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Maddison (Leicester City), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United).

Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford).

More in Arsenal