Connect with us


Mikel Arteta, Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard win big at London Football Awards

Arsenal boss Mikel Arteta has won the London Football Awards manager of the year tonight at The Roundhouse in England.

It follows an impressive 2022/23 season with the Gunners. They sit at the top of the Premier League table and look unstoppable in their chase for a first league title since 2004.

Arteta’s team have a five-point lead at the top of the table, with reigning champions Manchester City pursuing them.

Arsenal beat Fulham 3-0 yesterday to re-establish their lead with 11 league games left this season.

The north London club secured a favourable 2-2 draw in the Europa League against Sporting CP in Portugal last week. Arsenal welcome them to England this Thursday for the second leg.

The Premier League team are favourites to advance to the quarter-finals.

Arsenal swept home in other big categories, with Bukayo Saka winning the Young Player of the Year award. It is a reward for an excellent season with his boyhood club.

The 21-year-old has netted ten goals and nine assists in 27 league games. Saka has started every game his side has played in the league this season.

He has become a talismanic figure for the club, pleasing the fans as he is a product of their Hale End academy. He has become an England international too in that time, earning regular call-ups under manager Gareth Southgate.

Surprisingly, Saka did not also clinch the Premier League Player of the Year award. That prize went to his captain Martin Odegaard.

The Norwegian playmaker beat out competition from Saka, Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane, Brentford forward Ivan Toney, and Fulham target man Aleksandar Mitrovic.

Aaron Ramsdale won the goalkeeper of the year award.

West Ham United legend Mark Noble won the Outstanding Contribution to London Football award. Chelsea striker Sam Kerr won the Women’s Player of the Year prize.

The Lionesses won the 2022 Women’s European Championship. Arsenal stars Leah Williamson and Beth Mead received the Power of Football Award for their achievements.

Leyton Orient striker Paul Smyth won EFL Player of the Year.

More in Arsenal