Connect with us


The Best FIFA Awards 2022: Messi wins best men’s player award for second time

The Best FIFA Football Awards took place in Paris this evening, with Lionel Messi walking away with the top prize.

Eight awards were given out, and FIFA FIFPRO World 11 for both the men’s and women’s categories were also announced.

Argentines won the most prizes after their successful World Cup campaign in Qatar last year.

Here is a list of all the nominees and winners:

Manchester United goalkeeper and England international Mary Earps emerged as the Best FIFA’s Women’s Goalkeeper.

The 29-year-old pipped Chelsea’s Ann-Katrin Berger and Lyon’s Christiane Endler to the award.

Earps won the Women’s European Championship last year as England won the competition for the first time.

Aston Villa goalie and Argentina international Emiliano Martinez scooped the Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award.

The 2022 World Cup winner won the prize ahead of Sevilla’s Yassine Bounou and Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois.

The Puskas Award for the best goal went to amputee footballer Marcin Oleksy.

The 35-year-old Polish won the award after his incredible acrobatic overhead kick for Warta Poznan against Stal Rzeszow in the PZU Amp Futbol Ekstraklasa.

Oleksy pipped Dmitri Payet and Richarlison to the prize.

England manager Sarina Wiegman emerged as the Best FIFA Women’s Coach.

She won ahead of Lyon’s Sonia Bompastor and Brazil’s Pia Sundhage.

Argentina manager Lionel Scaloni went home with the Best FIFA Men’s Coach award for his side’s heroics at the 2022 World Cup.

Real Madrid manager Carlo Ancelotti and his Manchester City counterpart Pep Guardiola were also nominated.

Cremonese centre-back Luka Lochoshvili won the FIFA Fair Play award for saving the life of Austria Wien right-back Georg Teigl on the pitch.

The Argentinian fans picked up the FIFA Fan Award ahead of their Japanese counterparts and Abdullah Alsulmi.

The FIFPro Women’s World XI consists of:

  • Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler
  • Defenders: Lucy Bronze, Maria Leon, Leah Williamson, Wendie Renard
  • Midfielders: Alexia Putellas, Keira Walsh, Lena Oberdorf
  • Forwards: Alex Morgan, Sam Kerr, Beth Mead

The FIFPro Men’s World XI is made up of:

  • Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois
  • Defenders: Achraf Hakimi, Virgil van Dijk, Joao Cancelo
  • Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro,
  • Forwards: Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Karim Benzema, Erling Braut Haaland

Spain international and Barcelona midfielder Alexia Putellas retains the Best FIFA Women’s Player award.

The 29-year-old won the award ahead of England’s 2022 European Championship winner and Arsenal star Beth Mead and USMNT and San Diego Wave star Alex Morgan.

The Barca captain helped her side win the league unbeaten, weighing in with 18 goals and 15 assists.

Putellas also helped the Liga F club win the Copa de la Reina and reach the Champions League final

As expected, Paris Saint-Germain and Argentina international star Messi won the Best FIFA Men’s Player award.

The 35-year-old pipped Real Madrid star Karim Benzema and club teammate Kylian Mbappe to the prize.

Messi won the award in 2019 and is also the favourite to win the Ballon d’Or.

It is his 77th individual award and plenty more will surely come.

More in Argentina