Connect with us

World Cup

Uruguay World Cup squad: Ronald Araujo included despite injury, Suarez & Cavani lead the attack

Uruguay have unveiled their final 26-man squad for the 2022 World Cup, with Ronald Araujo making it despite injury concerns.

There were doubts over the Barcelona defender’s participation after he underwent thigh surgery, but he is now officially on the plane to Qatar.

Jose Maria Gimenez, Diego Godin and Martin Caceres are among the defenders called up by head coach Diego Alonso.

Napoli left-back Mathias Olivera has made the cut following an impressive debut campaign in Serie A this season.

The 25-year-old has nailed down a regular place in Luciano Spalletti’s side, who are the leaders of Serie A.

Rodrigo Bentancur and Federico Valverde form the spine of the midfield, and both have been in excellent form.

Bentancur has become an integral part of Tottenham Hotspur’s midfield since leaving Juventus, while Valverde is in red-hot form for Real Madrid this season, netting eight goals and four assists in all competitions.

Experienced striker duo Luis Suarez and Edinson Cavani have been summoned for the World Cup, and they will lead the attack alongside Darwin Nunez.

Manchester United’s Facundo Pellistri is a shock inclusion as he has been on the fringes at Old Trafford, while there is no place for Diego Rossi, who has been a top performer for Fenerbahce.

Orlando City winger Facundo Torres – a transfer target of Arsenal – and highly-talented Agustin Canobbio have also got the nod.

Uruguay came up short in the round of 16 in the previous two editions of the World Cup, and they will be eager to change their fortunes this time.

La Celeste are in Group H, which contains South Korea, Portugal and Ghana.

Uruguay World Cup squad

Goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera (Galatasaray), Sergio Rochet (Nacional), Sebastián Sosa, (Independiente).

Defenders: Diego Godín (Velez Sarsfield), José María Giménez (Atletico Madrid), Sebastián Coates (Sporting Lisbon), Martín Cáceres (Los Ángeles Galaxy), Ronald Araujo (Barcelona), Matías Viña (Roma), Mathías Olivera (Napoli), Guillermo Varela (Flamengo), José Luis Rodríguez (Nacional).

Midfielders: Matías Vecino (Lazio), Rodrigo Bentancur (Tottenham Hotspur), Federico Valverde (Real Madrid), Lucas Torreira (Galatasaray), Manuel Ugarte (Sporting Lisbon), Facundo Pellistri (Manchester United), Nicolás De la Cruz (River Plate), Giorgian de Arrascaeta (Flamengo), Agustín Canobbio (Athletico Paranaense) and Facundo Torres (Orlando City).

Forwards: Darwin Núñez (Liverpool), Luis Suárez (Nacional), Edinson Cavani (Valencia), Maximiliano Gómez (Trabzonspor).

More in World Cup